Robin Hobb’s “Farseer Trilogy”

Robin Hobb’s “Farseer Trilogy”
Whilst not quite news to some, I am incredibly proud to announce one of our upcoming productions, the Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb!!
This is without doubt one of the most phenomenal fantasy series of all time, and Hobb has been lauded for her sophisticated storytelling and the machinations of royal families. Published between 1995 and 1997, by 2018 over 4 million copies have been sold and it has been translated into 22 different languages.
We are very early on in the process and my original plan was to announce this towards the end of the year, but sometimes these announcements don’t go completely to plan!
The plan is to publish each of the three books individually, starting with the “Assassin’s Apprentice” in 2025, and the following two in the following years. Taking up the mantle of illustrating Assassin’s Apprentice is the wonderful Lixin Yin!
Lixin Yin is an incredible painter and operates digitally and has a background that spans movies, games and books. Our reason for going with Lixin Yin is due to his incredible portraiture work. Lixin is a master at capturing the emotion and mood of characters and due to depth of Hobb’s protagonists we thought this a great match for the series.
Our current plan is to have 10 colour paintings by Lixin produced for Assassin’s Apprentice, with an exclusive dustjacket for the Standard Edition.
We will be producing the following tiers and numbers :
  • Lettered Edition – 26 copies
  • Deluxe Edition – 250 copies
  • Standard Edition – 750 copies
All sets will be printed letterpress on high quality paper and handbound by Ludlow Bookbinders. There are no further details to release at this time as we are only just beginning this journey and you will have some time to wait for pre-order. Each edition will also be signed by the author and artist.
Our aim was to announce new titles closer to the time of pre-order but unfortunately the cat got out of the proverbial bag on this one!

The Farseer Trilogy

The Farseer Trilogy begins with “Assassin’s Apprentice” where readers are introduced to FitzChivalry Farseer, the illegitimate son of Prince Chivalry. Raised in the shadow of the royal court, Fitz is trained as a royal assassin under the tutelage of the enigmatic Chade. As Fitz grows, he discovers he possesses a rare magical ability known as the Skill, which allows him to telepathically communicate and influence others. However, this gift comes with its own set of dangers and challenges. It is this book where Fitz discovers his canis lupus companion “Night Eyes“.
In “Royal AssassinFitz is thrust deeper into the perilous politics of the Six Duchies as King Shrewd’s health deteriorates and the kingdom faces threats from both within and without. Fitz’s loyalty to the throne is tested as he navigates treacherous plots and personal betrayals, all while honing his assassin’s skills and grappling with his forbidden love for Molly.
The trilogy concludes with “Assassin’s Quest” where Fitz embarks on a perilous journey to uncover the mysteries of his heritage and confront the dark forces threatening the realm. As he travels through the land, Fitz faces unimaginable trials that test his courage and resolve, ultimately leading him to a confrontation with his destiny and the true meaning of loyalty and sacrifice.